Connaître le classement des mains au poker

Font Size
A A A

Étant donné que le Texas Hold’em est le type de poker le plus joué au monde, ce guide des mains de départ au Texas Hold'em se focalisera sur le fait que le poker est un jeu de cartes reposant sur les mathématiques et les probabilités. Combien de fois avez-vous entendu et combien de temps cela vous a pris d'arrêter d'écouter après le mot « mathématiques »? Personne ne veut passer des heures à étudier un jeu qu'ils veulent seulement jouer. Nous comprenons cela. Vous devez simplement prendre conscience que, si vous ne connaissez pas les bases du poker, c'est un immense avantage pour vos adversaires.

Cela étant dit, voici un cours de poker que vous ne voulez pas rater. Pourquoi? C'est la sélection adéquate des mains de départ, ainsi que savoir comment chaque main se joue post-flop, qui formeront le socle de votre jeu de poker. Cela est vrai, quelle que soit la forme de poker que vous jouez.

jeu uniquement. Si vous étudiez les changements de victoire avec certaines mains de départ, vous aurez l'avantage sur la plupart des adversaires auxquels vous êtes confronté.

Tableau de classement des mains au poker

Bien qu'il y ait 169 mains de départ différentes et uniques au Texas Hold’em, il n'existe que neuf catégories de mains à l'abattage. Nous les étudierons individuellement, en les classant de la meilleure à la pire.

Quinte flush

La quinte flush est la plus forte de toutes les mains au poker, avec la Quinte flush royale au sommet absolu de la liste. Une Quinte flush royale est A-K-Q-J-10, toutes les cartes de la même couleur. La Quinte flush correspond à toute quinte, de type 10-9-8-7-6, également toutes de la même couleur.

Carré

Le carré ou « Quads » est la main la plus élevée qui suit dans la liste après la Quinte Flush et constitue aussi une main très rare. Cette main est formée de quatre cartes du même classement, de type 5-5-5-5-K. Le carré le plus faible est quatre deux, et le plus élevé est quatre as.

Full House

Un Full House est la main de poker la plus élevée suivante, elle suit dans l'ordre le carré. Elle est constituée d'un brelan et d'une paire. Par exemple, 10-10-10-8-8 est un Full House « Full aux dix par les huit ». Le Full House le plus élevé est A-A-A-K-K (Full aux as par les rois) et le plus bas 2-2-2-3-3.

Couleur

Une couleur est constituée de cinq cartes toutes de la même couleur. Une Couleur est une main plutôt forte au Texas Hold’em, avec la Couleur la plus forte possible étant avec un As fort comme A-K-Q-J-9, toutes les cartes étant de la même couleur. Au poker Hold'em, une Couleur A-K-5-4-2 à Piques a le même classement que A-K-5-4-2 à Trèfles.

Quinte

Une Quinte est constituée de n'importe quelles cinq cartes qui se suivent. La Quinte la plus forte possible est A-K-Q-J-10 (également appelée « broadway »). Les combinaisons de quintes peuvent aller jusqu'à 5-4-3-2-A, qui est appelée la « Wheel », dans le jargon du poker.

Brelan

Le brelan est la main suivante dans l'échelle du classement des mains au poker. Cette main est souvent propice à confusion chez certains joueurs. Il peut s'agir d'un « Set », c'est-à-dire lorsque vous avez une paire en main, telle que 7-7, associée à un autre 7 sur le tableau. Les « Trips » sont une paire sur le tableau, telle que 5-5-4, avec un autre 5 sur votre main de départ.

Double paire

La double paire est l'une des mains gagnantes les plus courantes au Texas Hold’em. Il s'agit simplement de deux paires, comme le nom le suggère. Si vous avez 8-8 et que le tableau est 7-7-3, alors vous pouvez avoir une double paire, de huit et de sept. Avec Q-J et un flop A-Q-J, vous avez également une double paire, Reines et Valets.

Une paire

Une paire est une simple paire, rien de plus. Votre paire peut être votre main de départ telle que J-J, ou de type A-J et un tableau A-10-9 pour une paire d'As. Au Hold’em, une paire peut également se trouver sur le tableau avec K-Q dans votre main et 8-8-2 sur le tableau des cartes communes. Ici vous avez une paire de huit, mais c'est le cas également pour vos adversaires.

Hauteur

Il s'agit de la main la plus faible possible au Texas Hold’em is lorsque vous n'avez même pas de paire, par exemple une main de départ de Ks-10s sur un tableau 9h-3s-2d -7h-Jd. Dans le cas présent, votre main est appelée « King High » (Hauteur Roi), plutôt que sans paire. Cependant, le système de classement s'applique toujours. En effet, une Hauteur As bat une Hauteur Roi, et ainsi de suite.

Abréviations des mains de poker

Il existe différents moyens d'exprimer (écrire) les mains de poker. L'un des raccourcis les plus courants est d'écrire « AsKd » pour la main de départ, As de Piques, Roi de Carreaux.

Voici une liste de certaines des mains de départ et leur signification.

Abréviation de la main Nom complet
A10 ou A-10 As Dix
As10d ou As-10d As de Piques, Dix de Carreaux
A10s As Dix assortis
A10+ Mains A-X uniquement avec un Kicker supérieur à 10
x, A-x ou AX, A-X As plus toute autre carte
JJ ou J-J Paire de valets servie
JJ+ Paire de valets servie et paires supérieures uniquement, y compris QQ, KK et AA

Classement et force des mains de départ

Il existe 1326 combinaisons possibles de deux cartes privatives au Hold 'em. Mais comme AsKs a la même valeur pré-flop comme AdKd et ainsi de suite, le numéro actuel non équivalent est 169. Ce nombre est constitué de 13 paires services, 78 mains assorties et 78 mains non assorties. La pire main est 3-2 et la meilleure est A-A.

La valeur de votre main de départ aura un gros impact sur vos chances d'abattre la meilleure main à la rivière. Une main telle que A-A remportera le pot sans amélioration ultérieure, tandis qu'une main telle que 7-2 devra comporter au moins une paire et probablement davantage pour gagner. C'est le type de main qui dépendra bien plus du bluff pour être une réussite.

Les mains de départ dictent le niveau de « force » que vous emportez avec vous au flop et au-delà. N'oubliez pas que votre main de départ est juste ça.... une main de départ! Trois autres cartes sont à venir sur le flop et deux autres possibles sur le tournant et la rivière. Tout et n'importe quoi peut modifier considérablement la force de votre main dès que ces cartes sont distribuées.

L'une des clés pour bien jouer à vos mains est d'être conscient de l'amélioration ou baisse de la force de votre main pré-flop, lors du post-flop. Une main telle que A-K par exemple, est forte pré-flop mais a également la capacité de s'améliorer considérablement, post-flop. Si vous réussissez à former une paire avec l'As ou le Roi, vous aurez une paire supérieure avec un kicker supérieur.

Les mains de départ tombent dans plusieurs catégories, qui sont les suivantes :

Pocket Pairs

Comme le nom l'implique, il s'agit d'une main de départ constituée de deux cartes du même niveau telle que Paire de sept, six ou même mieux... As.

Cartes Broadway

« Broadway » est un terme utilisé pour décrire une main formée de deux cartes qui sont Dix ou supérieur. Par exemple, K-Q ou K-J. Une broadway assortie signifie que vos deux cartes sont de la même couleur. Ces mains peuvent constituer une Broadway – la meilleure quinte au Hold'em, A-K-Q-J-10. Si les cartes de cette quinte sont toutes de la même couleur, vous aurez une quinte royale, la meilleure main au poker Hold'em.

Connecteurs

De nombreux joueurs au Texas Hold’em aiment jouer les cartes connectées telles que J-10, 9-8 et 6-5, par exemple, en raison de leur potentiel à constituer une quinte. Si les cartes sont assorties (même couleur), alors on les appelle « connecteurs assortis ».

Cartes assorties

Les cartes assorties sont simplement deux cartes de la même couleur. Les cartes assorties, spécialement lorsqu'une des cartes est un As, sont idéales pour constituer des Couleurs. L'As garantit que vous aurez la meilleure Flush si vous arrivez à en constituer une. Tant qu'il n'y a pas de possibilité de Quinte Flush.

Gappers

Le mot « gapper » est souvent utilisé pour décrire les cartes qui sont presque connectées mais sont séparées par un espace tel que 9-7, par exemple (souvent appelé « A un espace »). Un « double-gapper » signifie que deux cartes manquent entre les connecteurs tels que 9-6, par exemple. De nombreux joueurs aiment jouer ces cartes car la quinte obtenue n'est pas aussi évidente à voir sur le tableau des cartes communes.

Cotes et probabilités du poker Hold'em

Comme expliqué au début de ce guide, le Texas Hold’em is est un jeu de cotes et probabilités. Le côté mathématiques du poker peut être un peu ennuyeux. Cependant, le joueur qui connaît les cotes est mieux préparé à partir à la bataille.

En connaissant les cotes de votre main pré-flop, sur le flop, au tournant et à la rivière, cela vous aidera à vous coucher, suivre, miser et relancer le mieux possible. Vous serez également mieux équipé pour miser par valeur lorsque vous avez la meilleure main.

Examinons le tableau ci-dessous du poker Texas Hold'em qui indique les mains que vous devez passer, suivre, miser ou relancer :

Utiliser les tableaux, calculateurs et outils de suivi du poker

Les cotes de poker sont un sujet très complexe et non pas un domaine que vous trouverez facile à maîtriser sans aide. Par chance, vous n'avez pas à tout comprendre tout seul. Il existe de nombreuses aides fantastiques disponibles actuellement qui aideront les joueurs à se familiariser avec cette partie délicate du jeu.

De nombreux tableaux sont accessibles et des logiciels en lignes peuvent vous aider à calculer les cotes. Les calculateurs d'équité et de cotes sont très faciles à utiliser. Ils peuvent vous indiquer les cotes et probabilités dans n'importe quelle situation indiquée. D'autres programmes plus sophistiqués, tels que les logiciels de suivi de poker, peuvent aussi vous aider à comprendre quand vous devez vous coucher ou faire tapis.

La plupart de ces programmes logiciels peuvent être utilisés en ligne de manière légale. Cependant, vous devez vérifier au préalable avec votre site de poker en ligne, par simple prudence.

Force de la main pré-flop – Hold'em 9-Max

Dans les jeux de poker Texas Hold’em à 9 joueurs (également appelés full ring), la force de la main est encore plus importante. Vous devrez affronter deux sièges de plus qu'au 6-Max, donc vos mains de départ doivent être sélectionnées avec plus grand soin. Néanmoins, vous pouvez jouer davantage de mains en position, et les jouer avec plus de force. Cela est spécialement le cas dans les pots sans relance.

Les bons exemples de mains de départ incluent toutes les paires de Dix ou supérieures et toutes deux cartes élevées broadway. Les mauvaises mains sont des mains basses non connectées et non assorties, telles que 7-2, ou même les mains qui ont une carte haute et une carte basse, telle que Q-4 par exemple.

Mêmes les mains plus fortes, telles que K-J, peuvent soudainement sembler injouables avec trop d'action dans une main. Ainsi, vous devez être attentif à l'action pré-flop quand vous décidez de jouer ou pas une main. Votre K-J pourrait être dominé par une main de type A-K ou même K-K dans des situations avec beaucoup de folles mises et relances pré-flop en position Early.

Ensuite il y a le kicker puis, vous devez prendre en considération votre position lors d'une main, l'action qui vous précède et le nombre de joueurs qui doivent agir après vous, lorsque vous décidez de jouer ou pas.

Tableau des mains d'ouverture par position – Hold'em 9-Max

Le tableau suivant des mains de poker Texas Hold'em 9-Max par position est un bon guide par défaut pour les gammes de mains de départ, et la manière avec laquelle vous devez les jouer. Les gammes de mains se diversifient plus vous vous approchez du bouton et se réduisent avec beaucoup de relances.

Tous les tableaux de mains prennent en compte la force relative des mains auxquelles vous pourriez être confronté. Ce tableau s'adresse aux joueurs novices et joueurs de niveau intermédiaire uniquement, mais les joueurs plus expérimentés peuvent également l'utiliser pour se jauger. En tant que débutant, vous devriez vous coucher avec toutes les mains non répertoriées dans ce tableau, car il s'agit probablement de mauvaises mains!

Position Early (UTG (EP1), UTG+1 (EP2)

Si les autres se couchent ou si vous êtes premier à agir – Relancer AA-TT, AKs, AK, AQs, AQ

Si suiveurs – Relancer AA-TT, AKs, AK, AQs, AQ

Si relance adverse – Relancer toute relance AA-QQ, AKs, AK et suivre JJ-88

Position Middle (MP1, MP2, HJCK (Hi-jack)

Si les autres se couchent – Relancer AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo

Si suiveurs - Relancer AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo et suivree 99-22, KJo, QTs+, JTs

Si relance adverse – Relancer tout relance AA-QQ, AKs, AK et suivre JJ-88

Position Late (CO (Cut-Off), BTN (Bouton)

Si les autres se couchent – Relancer toutes les paires, A2s+, A9o+

Si suiveurs – Relancer AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo et suivre 99-22, A-2s+, KJo, QTs+, JTs

Si relance adverse – Re-relancer AA-QQ, AKs, AKo et suivre JJ-22

Petite blind

Si les autres se couchent – Relancer toutes les paires, A2s+ A7o+

Si suiveurs – Relancer AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQ et suivre 99-22, A2s+, T9s+, T8s+, KJ

Si relance – Re-relancer AA-QQ, AKs, AK et suivre JJ-88

Grosse blind

Si les autres se couchent – Victoire automatique et fin du pot

Si suiveurs – Relancer AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+ et checker tout le reste

Si relance adverse – Re-relancer AA-QQ, AKs, AKo et suivre JJ-88, A2s+. ATo+, KTs+, Kto+

Surnoms des mains de poker

Les surnoms sont courants dans de nombreux sports. Au football (soccer), quand un joueur frappe le ballon très fort, les gens disent « frappasse » ou autre nom de ce type. La même chose s'applique au poker. Au fil des années, de nombreuses mains ont reçu des surnoms selon leur historique et/ou les expériences des joueurs. Voici certains des surnoms les plus connus qui vous aideront à vous familiariser avec le jargon du poker :

Big Slick – Un surnom courant donné à la meilleure main hors paire au poker Hold’em, c'est-à-dire A-K.

Doyle Brunson – Un terme utilisé pour décrire la main 10-2. Deux fois vainqueur du WSOP Main Event, Doyle Brunson, a remporté ses titres mondiaux consécutifs avec sa toute première main.

(Fish) Hooks – Une paire de Valets est également connue sous le nom de paire de « Hooks » (crochets) ou « Fish Hooks » (hameçons) en raison de l'apparence du J dans le mot « Jacks » (Valets).

Cowboys – Les paires de Rois (paires servies) sont communément appelées « Cowboys ».

(Full) Boat – Un boat est un autre surnom utilisé pour désigner un Full House.

Gutshot – Un terme utilisé pour décrire un tirage de quinte ventral quand il ne manque qu'une seule carte pour former un tirage quinte.

Main Backdoor – Également appelée « runner runner », ce surnom signifie que deux cartes sont nécessaires (généralement le tournant et la rivière) sont nécessaires pour former une main. Comme lorsque le joueur a 10-9 sur le tableau de 7-4-2 et qu'il obtient un 8 sur le tournant et un J sur la rivière. Pouvez-vous dire, « river-rat »?

Wheel – Nom de poker populaire pour la quinte la plus basse possible, c'est-à-dire A-2-3-4-5.

Two Snowmen – Les paires de Huit sont parfois appelées des « Snowmen » (bonhommes de neige) en raison de leur forme arrondie.

Open Ended – Un terme utilisé pour décrire un tirage quinte qui ouvert par les deux bouts. Par exemple, 10-9 sur un tableau 8-7-2 doit avoir un J ou un 6 pour obtenir la quinte.

Rockets – Toute main qui implique une paire d'As est souvent appelée « Rockets » ou « Pocket Rockets ».

Dead Man's Hand - Selon la légende, le célèbre cowboy Wild Bill possédait cette main, A-A-8-8, lorsqu'il a été abattu dans un saloon. Cette main est désormais toujours appelée « Dead Man's Hand ».

Saint-Valentin – Un nom spécial pour une main spéciale, Kh-Qh est connue sous le nom de « Saint-Valentin » pour la plus évidente des raisons.

Phil Hellmuth – La paire de neuf noirs est à présent célèbre avec Phil Hellmuth après qu'il ait gagné le 1989 WSOP Main Event grâce à elle.

Kojak – La main de départ K-J est souvent appelée « Kojak » comme une référence au détective de la série américaine du même nom, l'exceptionnel Kojak – Telly « le lover » Savalas.

Les Ladies – Autre nom donné à la paire de Dames, mais aussi parfois appelées « Cowgirls », comme clin d'oeil aux « Cowboys ».

Maverick – La main Q-J (Reine-Valet) est parfois appelée « Maverick » en référence à la chanson thème de la série télé, qui mentionne « vivre sur les valets et les reines » dans ses paroles. Les Mavericks étaient des parieurs qui voyageaient dans l'Old West.

TNT – Les paires de Dix sont parfois surnommées TNT. Il faut faire attention à ne pas les faire exploser quand un Valet est tiré au flop ou au tournant.

Avez-vous trouvé cela intéressant?    

Merci de nous aider à améliorer

     

Copyright 2002 - 2016 Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited., une filiale appartenant entièrement à 888 Holdings plc.
Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited est une entreprise constituée à Gibraltar, qui fait partie de l'Union Européenne.
888 Holdings plc est coté à la bourse de Londres.
Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited est licencié et réglementé pour offrir des services de jeu en ligne sous l'égide des lois de Gibraltar (licences de jeu à distance numéros 022 et 039) et, de fait, n'effectue aucune déclaration au sujet de la légalité de tels services au sein d'autres juridictions.
Nos services au Royaume-Uni sont opérés par 888 UK Limited, une entreprise constituée à Gibraltar, qui est sous licence et réglementée par la Great Britain Gambling Commission.
Nos services dans les états de l'Union Européenne (sauf pour les états pour lesquels nos services sont fournis conformément à une licence locale) sont opérés par Virtual Digital Services Limited, une société constituée à Gibraltar, qui fait partie de l'Union Européenne.
La société Virtual Digital Services Limited fonctionne sous l'égide d'une licence de jeu, fournie sous le régime des lois de Gibraltar.
Nos produits de pari sont gérés en Irlande par 888 Ireland Limited, une société constituée à Gibraltar, qui est sous licence avec et réglementée par les Revenue Commissioners d'Irlande.
Notre adresse : 601-701 Europort, Gibraltar.
Nous encourageons le jeu responsable et soutenons GamCare.

$88 FREE NO DEPOSIT NEEDED

Know Your Poker Hand Rankings

Font Size
A A A
hand of cards

Because Texas Hold’em is the most universally played form of poker, this starting Texas Hold'em Hands guide will focus on that Poker is a card game that is based on maths and probability. How many times have you heard that, and how long has it taken you to stop listening after the word, “maths”? No one wants to spend hours on end reading up on a game that they just want to play. We understand that. Just be aware that, if you don’t know the basics of poker, you'll be giving a massive edge to your opponents.

Having said that, this is one poker class you don't want to fail. Why? It is the proper selection of starting hands, along with knowing how each hand plays post- flop, that will form the bedrock of your poker game. This is true, no matter which form of poker you happen to be playing.

game only. If you study the changes of winning with certain starting hands, you will gain an edge over almost all of the opponents you face.

Poker Hand Ranking Chart

While there are 169 unique different starting hands in Texas Hold’em, there are only nine categories of showdown hands. We'll look at these individually, ranking them from best to worst.

Straight Flush

The Straight Flush is the highest of all poker hands with the Royal Flush being at the absolute pinnacle. A Royal Flush is A-K-Q-J-10 all of the same suit. Straight Flush is any connecting straight cards, like 10-9-8-7-6, also all of the same suit.

Four-of-a-Kind

Four-of-a-Kind or “Quads” as they are also known is the next highest ranking hand after a Straight Flush and is also a very rare hand. It consists of four cards of the same ranking like 5-5-5-5-K. The lowest Four-of-a-Kind is four deuces with four aces being the highest.

Full House

A Full House is the next highest ranking poker hand after Four-of-a-Kind and is Three-of-a-Kind with by a Pair. For example, 10-10-10-8-8 is a “Tens full of Eights” Full House. The highest possible Full House is A-A-A-K-K (Aces full of Kings) with the lowest being 2-2-2-3-3.

Flush

A Flush consists of five cards all of the same suit. A flush is a pretty strong hand in Texas Hold’em with the highest possible flush being ace-high like, A-K-Q-J-9, all in the same suit. In Hold'em, an A-K-5-4-2 flush in spades has the same poker ranking as an A-K-5-4-2 in clubs.

Straight

A Straight is any five connected cards in a row. The highest possible Straight is A-K-Q-J-10 (also called “Broadway”). Straight combinations go all the way down to 5-4-3-2-A, which is known as the “Wheel”, in poker lingo.

Three-of-a-Kind

Three-of-a-Kind is the next hand down on the poker rankings ladder. This hand often confuses some people. It can mean a “Set”, which is where you have a pair in your hand, like 7-7, matched with another 7 on the board. “Trips” is a pair on the board, like 5-5-4, with another 5 in your starting hand.

Two Pair

Two Pair is one of the most common winning hands in Texas Hold’em. It's simply two pairs, as the name suggests. If you hold 8-8 and the board is 7-7-3 then you would have Two Pair, Eights and Sevens. With Q-J and a flop A-Q-J, you have Two Pair also, Queens and Jacks.

One Pair

One Pair is just a single pair, nothing more. Your pair can be in your starting hand like J-J, or like A-J and a board of A-10-9 for a Pair of Aces. In Hold’em a pair can also be on the board with K-Q in your hand and 8-8-2 on the board. Here you have a Pair of Eights but so do your opponents.

No Pair

The lowest possible hand in Texas Hold’em is when you don’t even hold a pair, like Ks-10s starting hand on a board 9h-3s-2d -7h-Jd. Here your hand is referred to as “King High” rather than no pair. However, there is still a ranking system at work. because Ace High beats King High and so on.

Poker Hand Abbreviations

There are several ways to express (write) poker hands. One of the most common shortcuts is “AsKd” for the starting hand, Ace of Spades, King of Diamonds.

Below is a list of some sample starting hands and what they mean.

Hand Abbreviation Full name
A10 or A-10 Ace Ten
As10d or As-10d Ace of Spades, Ten of Diamonds
A10s Ace Ten suited
A10+ A-X hands only with a Kicker greater than 10
x, A-x or AX, A-X Ace plus any other card
JJ or J-J Pocket Jacks
JJ+ Pocket Jacks and bigger Pairs only, including QQ, KK and AA

Starting Hand Ranking and Strength

There are 1326 distinct possible combinations of two hole cards Hold 'em. But because AsKs has the same pre-flop value as AdKd and so on, the actual non-equivalent number is 169. This number is made up of 13 pocket pairs, 78 suited hands and 78 unsuited hands. The worst hand is 3-2 at the very bottom, and the best is A-A at the very top.

The value of your starting hand will have a big impact on your chances of showing down the best hand at the river. A hand like A-A could win the pot without further improvement, whereas a hand like 7-2 would need to make at least a pair and probably more to win. This is the sort of hand that would depend much more heavily on bluffing, in order to be successful.

Starting hands dictate how much “strength” you take with you into the flop and beyond. Remember that your “starting hand” is just that……a starting hand! There are a further three cards to come on the flop and two more possible cards on the turn and river. Anything and everything can drastically alter your hand strength once those cards are dealt.

One of the keys to playing your hands well is to be aware of how your pre-flop hand strength will go up or down, post flop. A hand like A-K for example, is strong pre-flop but also has the capacity to improve in leaps and bounds, post flop. If you pair the ace or king, you'll have the top pair with top kicker.

Starting hands fall into several categories, which are as follows:

Pocket Pairs

As the name implies this is a starting hand made up of two cards of the same rank like Pocket Sevens, Sixes or better still….Aces.

Broadway Cards

“Broadway” is a term used to describe a hand that consists of two cards that are ten or higher. Like for example K-Q or K-J. A suited-Broadway means both of your cards are of the same suit. These hands can make Broadway – the best straight in Hold'em, A-K-Q-J-10. If this straight is all in the same suit, you'll have the Royal, the best-ranked hand in Hold'em.

Connectors

Many players in Texas Hold’em like to play connecting cards like J-10, 9-8 and 6-5, for example, because of their straight making potential. If the cards are suited then they are referred to as “suited connectors”.

Suited Cards

Suited cards are simply two cards of the same suit. Suited cards, especially when e of the cards is an Ace, are perfect for making flushes. The Ace guarantees that you'll have the best flush if you get there. As long as there is no straight flush possibility.

Gappers

The word “gapper” is often used to describe cards that are almost connected but are separated by a gap like 9-7, for example (often referred to as a single-gapper). A “double-gapper” means that there are two cards missing between the connectors like 9-6, for example. Many players like to play these cards because the resulting straight is not as obvious to see on the board.

Hold'em Odds and Probabilities

As we said at the begging of this guide, Texas Hold’em is a game of odds and probabilities. The maths side of poker can be a little dreary. However, the player that is more aware the odds is better prepared to go into battle.

Knowing what the odds are of your hand being the best hand pre-flop, on the flop, on the turn and the river will help you make better folds, calls, bets and raises. You'll also be better equipped to value bet when you have the best hand.

Take a look at the Texas Hold'em chart below as an indication of which hands you should be folding, calling, betting or raising:

Using Charts, Calculators & Poker Trackers

Poker odds is a very involved topic and not something that you will find easy to master without help. Luckily, you don’t have to figure it out all on your own. There are many fantastic aids available these days that help players get to grips with this trickier part of the game.

There are numerous charts available and online software that can help you calculate the odds. Equity calculators and odds calculators are very easy to use. They can tell you what the odds and probabilities are of any situation that you care to throw at it. Other more sophisticated programs, like poker tracking software, can also help you figure out when you should be folding or pushing.

The majority of these software programs are legal to use online. However, you should check with your online poker site beforehand, just to be on the safe side.

Pre-Flop Hand Strength – Hold'em 9-Max

In 9-handed Texas Hold’em games (also referred to as, full ring), hand strength is even more important. You will be going up against 2 more seats than in 6-Max, so your starting hands should be selected with a lot more care. However, you can play more hands in position – and play them stronger. This is especially the case in unraised pots.

Good examples of starting hands include all pairs tens or higher and any two high Broadway cards. Rubbish hands are low unconnected and unsuited hands, like 7-2, or even hands that have one high card and one low card, like Q-4 for example.

Even stronger hands, like K-J, can suddenly seem unplayable with too much action in a hand. So, you need to be mindful of the pre-flop action when deciding whether or not to play a hand. Your K-J could be dominated by a hand like A-K or even K-K in situations with a lot of crazy, early-position pre-flop betting and raising.

Here's the kicker then, you should take into consideration your position in a hand, the action before you and how many players are left to act after you, when deciding to play or not.

Chart of Opening Hands By Position – Hold'em 9-Max

The following Texas Hold'em 9-Max hand chart by position is a good default guide for starting hand ranges, and how you should play them. Hand ranges widen as you get nearer to the button and narrow with a lot of raising.

All hand charts take into account the relative strength of opposing hands that you could be facing. This chart is for novice players and intermediate level players only, but more advanced players can also use it as a good gauge. As a beginner, you should really fold any hands not listed on this chart, as they're probably all junk!

Early Position (UTG (EP1), UTG+1 (EP2)

If folded around or first to act – Raise AA-TT, AKs, AK, AQs, AQ

If callers – Raise AA-TT, AKs, AK, AQs, AQ

If raised – Raise any raise AA-QQ, AKs, AK and call JJ-88

Middle Position (MP1, MP2, HJCK (Hijack)

If folded around – Raise AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo

If callers- Raise AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo and call 99-22, KJo, QTs+, JTs

If raised – Raise any raise AA-QQ, AKs, AK and call JJ-88

Late Position (CO (Cut-Off), BTN (Button)

If folded around – Raise All Pairs, A2s+, A9o+

If callers – Raise AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQo and call 99-22, A-2s+, KJo, QTs+, JTs

If raised – Re-raise AA-QQ, AKs, AKo and call JJ-22

Small Blind

If folded around – Raise All Pairs, A2s+ A7o+

If callers – Raise AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+, KJs+, KQ and call 99-22, A2s+, T9s+, T8s+, KJ

If raised – Re-Raise AA-QQ, AKs, AK and call JJ-88

Big Blind

If folded to you – Automatic win and pot ends

If callers – Raise AA-TT, ATs+, ATo+ and check everything else

If raised – Re-raise AA-QQ, AKs, AKo and call JJ-88, A2s+. ATo+, KTs+, Kto+

Poker Hand Nicknames

Nicknames are popular in a lot of sports. In football (soccer), people say “booting it”, or “hoofing it” when a player kicks the ball hard. The same is true in poker, Down the years, many hands have been given nicknames based on past history and/or player experiences Here are just a few of the most famous nicknames to get you up to speed on poker lingo:

Big Slick – A common nickname given to the best non-paired hand in Hold’em, which is A-K.

Doyle Brunson – A term used to describe the hand 10-2. Two-time WSOP Main Event champ, Doyle Brunson, won back to back world titles with this very hand.

(Fish) Hooks – A pair of Jacks are also referred to and known as a pair of Hooks” or “Fish Hooks” because of the way the J in the word “Jacks” looks.

Cowboys – Pocket Kings are also commonly referred to as the “Cowboys”.

(Full) Boat – A boat is another nickname used for a Full House.

Gutshot – A term used to describe an inside straight draw when only one card can make the straight.

Backdoor Hand – Also known as “runner runner”, this nickname means when two running cards are needed to make a hand. Like when the player has 10-9 on a board of 7-4-2 and he catches an 8 on the turn and a J on the river. Can you say, “river-rat”?

Wheel – Popular poker name for the lowest possible straight, which is A-2-3-4-5.

Two Snowmen – Pocket Eights are sometimes referred to as “Snowmen” because of their rounded shape.

Open Ended – A term used to describe a straight draw that is “open” at both ends. For example, 10-9 on an 8-7-2 board needs with a J or a 6 to get there.

Rockets – Any hand that involves the player holding Aces is often referred to as having the “Rockets” or “Pocket Rockets”.

Dead Man's Hand - The famous cowboy Wild Bill was supposedly killed in a saloon, holding Aces and Eights. Now A-8 is always called the “Dead Man's Hand”.

Valentines – A special name for a special hand, Kh-Qh is known as “Valentines” for the most obvious of reasons.

Phil Hellmuth – Black Pocket Nines have now become famous with Phil Hellmuth after he won the 1989 WSOP Main Event with them.

Kojak – The starting hand K-J is often referred to as “Kojak” as a throwback to American TV sleuth, the one-of-a-kind Kojak – Telly “Who Loves ya, baby?” Savalas.

The Ladies – Two Queens are also known as Two Ladies, but they are sometimes called “Cowgirls”, as a nod to the “Cowboys”.

Maverick – The hand Q-J is sometimes called “Maverick” in reference to the theme song of the TV series, which mentions “living on jacks and queens” in the lyrics. The Mavericks were gamblers who travelled the Old West.

TNT – Pocket Tens are sometimes given the nickname TNT. Just don't blow up with them when a Jack flops or turns.

Did you find this interesting?    

Thank you for helping us improve

     

Copyright 2002 - 2016 Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited., a wholly owned subsidiary of 888 Holdings plc.
Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited is incorporated in Gibraltar, which is part of the European Union.
888 Holdings plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
Cassava Enterprises (Gibraltar) Limited is licensed and regulated to offer online gaming services under the laws of Gibraltar (Remote Gaming License Numbers 022 and 039) and makes no representation as to legality of such services in other jurisdictions.
Our services in the UK are operated by 888 UK Limited, a company incorporated in Gibraltar, which is licensed and regulated by the Great Britain Gambling Commission.
The right to organise and exploit remote gambling activities has been granted to 888 Romania Limited, a company incorporated in Gibraltar, under Decision no. 2162/28.08.2015 issued by ONJN.
Our services in European Union member states (except for states in which our services are provided under a local license) are operated by Virtual Digital Services Limited, a company incorporated in Gibraltar which is part of the European Union.
Virtual Digital Services Limited operates under the auspices of a gaming license provided under the laws of Gibraltar.
Our address: 601-701 Europort, Gibraltar.
We encourage responsible gambling and support GamCare.